E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society: Dr. Maurice E. Snook, Northeast Georgia Local Section

The 2018 E. Ann Nalley Volunteer Service award recognizes Dr. Snook, or “Mr. Science” as he is known throughout Northeast Georgia, has been volunteering his time and expertise by presenting chemistry demonstrations in more than 50 schools of the Northeast Georgia Section for almost 40 years, to tens of thousands of students. His presentations at area schools have been featured three times in local newspaper articles. He has also presented chemistry shows at numerous summer day camps, Boy and Girl Scout troops, churches, local library summer programs and the Northeast Georgia Science & Engineering Fair and participated in numerous STEM/Science Nights.

This award was instituted in 2006 by ACS Past President E. Ann Nalley as part of her presidential initiative to recognize ACS volunteerism.
Learn More

Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences: Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez, Johns Hopkins University

The 2018 Stanley C. Israel Award recognizes Dr. Hernandez for his impact in advancing diversity equity in the Southeast through his leadership in advising our departments and his mentoring of students through countless campus visits.

The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions that have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the ACS Regions.
Learn More

Partners for Progress and Prosperity (P3) Award

This award recognizes 1) improving the public perception and appreciation for chemistry, 2) promoting chemical career advancement or entrepreneurship, 3) advancing chemical enterprise advocacy, or 4) supporting STEM education and/or research.
Learn More | Nomination Form

Regional Awards for Excellence in High School Teaching: Dr. Romina M. Jannotti, Paul J. Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida

The 2018 Southeastern Regional High School Teaching Award recognizes Dr. Jannotti focuses on bringing her research experience to the classroom. Her teaching philosophy centers on the use of discovery to develop critical thinking. This emphasizes that learning is not a solitary task of memorizing information, but an interactive process of refining one's understanding - a recapitulation of the scientific method.

The Division of Chemical Education (DivCHED) established an endowment to support Regional Awards for Excellence in High School Teaching in each of the ACS Regions.
Learn More

Congratulations SERMACS 2018 Travel Grant Winners

Madison I. Bardot

Virginia Polytechnic and State University

Griffin L. Barnes

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jake Boyar

Elon University

Alvaro Calderon

Kennesaw State University

Mina N. Chanakira

East Carolina University

Phuong Chau

Smith College

Runiya J. Dasgupta

University of Georgia

Jabbarrius N. Ervin

College of Charleston

Brittany E. Lee

Dalton State College

Rabia U. Sheikh

University of North Carolina Charlotte

Ky-Mani S. D. Miller

Claflin University

Courtney E. Parks

Waynesburg University

Kenyanna S. Parrish

Valdosta State University

Melissa Velazquez-Rodriguez

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico

Kathryn Segner

Vanderbilt University

Jacob T. Shumate

University of North Carolina Asheville

Ronald Smith

University of North Georgia

Sheila Tran

University of Memphis

John Tyler Wagner

Georgia Southern University

Noah E. Wallace

Christopher Newport University